Lenten Calendar

Ash Wednesday is tomorrow and is the beginning of Lent.  Lent is a bit of a mystery for me as, growing up (not Catholic) it was that time when we all decided to give something up.  Usually it was sweets and after a couple of days, we forgot about it (I did grow up Christian and we were church goers, but I didn’t understand much of the tradition and it wasn’t really taught in our church). I have tried to be more conscious about Lent since becoming Catholic, but what that meant was fasting, no meat on Fridays and figuring out what to sacrifice during this time (for the past couple of years, that’s been time, in that I have tried to make myself learn more.  I am seriously trying to step that up now).

I found this beautiful Lenten Calendar for my kids today (H/T Shower of Roses) and I wanted to share it with you all.  Sadly, I don’t know what a lot of the things on this calendar even are.  I haven’t heard of Ember Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday, or Laetare Sunday.  I know little about Holy Thursday or Saturday other than attending Mass on those days the year I was confirmed.  While I printed this calendar for my children, it will serve as a bit of a template for me to do some research for Lent this year.  As per the past 4 years or so, I will give up my time and use it to learn more about my Faith and especially Lent this year.  I’ll pass on what I can here.

 

5 thoughts on “Lenten Calendar

  1. Ember Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday (there’s no ember sunday) are days of fasting and partial abstinence with the objective of getting the individual to meditate a bit more on where in the liturgical calender we are. They happen four times a year, fairly in line with the seasons, but primarily in line with major parts of the liturgical calendar. I didn’t know their origin before looking it up after reading this, but it seems that it simply was started in Rome for the above reasons between 300 and 400 AD, and spread from there. Traditionally they became mandatory days of fast and partial abstinence, but are now often forgotten about except for someone following the days of lent in a calendar like this.

    Heres the other ember weeks:
    The Ember Weeks—the weeks in which the Ember Days occur—are the weeks:

    between the third and fourth Sundays of Advent
    between the first and second Sundays of Lent
    between Pentecost and Trinity Sunday; and
    the week beginning on the Sunday after Holy Cross Day (September 14), the liturgical Third Week of September.

    Like

  2. Chad,

    Thank you. I was looking right at the calendar when I wrote out the Ember day and I still wrote it wrong. Oh well. Thank you for the explanation and I’ll likely use it to write further on the topic.

    Like

  3. Sure thing. Ember days are weird. I forget about them all the time until I go in to a mass and see it on the schedule. I need to work on getting better about them, and get around to buying the FSSP calendar that has all the fastings and feast days on it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

