Welcome!

Separation of Light from Darkness ~ Michelangelo Buonarroti

Welcome to Thy Light and Truth.  This blog is intended for me to learn more about my Catholic Faith.  I went through RCIA and became Catholic almost 9 years ago and over the past couple of years I have begun to realize just how little I know and understand about my faith.  I have been making an attempt to remedy this and hope to help others who may have found themselves in my position.

My plans for this blog are to cover a vast array of Catholicism and faith.  I have some protestant internet friends out there whom I hope still feel welcome here as I intend to ask questions that I know you all could help me with (Hearthie, Elspeth, and Jenny, I’m looking at you.  All others are welcome here as well).  What I do not intend for this blog is for it to tackle Catholic controversy.  I want this to be a place of learning and growth.  I understand that some may want and need to learn about much of the controversy in our Church today.  I would ask that you take it someplace else.  Having said this, my commenting policy will likely be a bit more strict here.  I will allow dissent in opinions, but I reserve the right to delete or edit comments that don’t follow the rules here.  I will expand on these rules as they solidify for me.

As for now, the blog will likely be changing at least a bit over time as I just wanted to get this up and running before Lent.  That might seem counterintuitive to some, but I am hoping to post here everything I don’t know or understand about Lent, which is a lot.

This is to be, hopefully, a place to learn.  I want to open it up to questions or suggestions that any of you might have as well.  It is my sincere wish that we can all learn more completely the depth of our Faith and of God’s love.

Welcome.

9 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. This is great Stingray! I’m glad you started this blog. I’m learning about the Catholic faith now myself, so this will likely be helpful for me to read, and hopefully I can be of some help too.

    Like

  2. Donal,

    One of the things that I have always found rather profound is that the learning will never end. One could study everyday for hours until his death and still have so much more to learn. The depth is, at times, overwhelming.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stingray, I feel just the same. Looking forward to being part of the conversation! Although, since I am giving up blog-following for Lent (so as to make better use of my time), I’m afraid you won’t see me around much for a bit. 😛 Shame, because it sounds like I could stand to learn a lot about Lent. Hmmmm.

    Like

  4. peoplegrowing,

    I thought about waiting until after Lent to start this blog because I knew people would likely be giving up the internet for Lent. But I needed to start now. We’ll be here when you return!

    Like

Leave a Reply

