Praying in the Garden

The Agony in the Garden ~ Giuseppe Cesari

Mathew 26: 36-45

36 Then Jesus came with them into a country place which is called Gethsemani; and he said to his disciples: Sit you here, till I go yonder and pray.

37 And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to grow sorrowful and to be sad.

38 Then he saith to them: My soul is sorrowful even unto death: stay you here, and watch with me.

39 And going a little further, he fell upon his face, praying, and saying: My Father, if it be possible, let this chalice pass from me. Nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt.

40 And he cometh to his disciples, and findeth them asleep, and he saith to Peter: What? Could you not watch one hour with me?

41 Watch ye, and pray that ye enter not into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh weak.

42 Again the second time, he went and prayed, saying: My Father, if this chalice may not pass away, but I must drink it, thy will be done.

43 And he cometh again and findeth them sleeping: for their eyes were heavy.

44 And leaving them, he went again: and he prayed the third time, saying the selfsame word.

45 Then he cometh to his disciples, and saith to them: Sleep ye now and take your rest; behold the hour is at hand, and the Son of man shall be betrayed into the hands of sinners.

I’ve been thinking of this passage a lot this week.  I tend to forget that Jesus was not only divine, but fully Man.  That being Man, he wanted Peter there for comfort (that is how understand this, please correct me if I’m wrong) but that he had to do this alone.  I forget that while he knew he must be humiliated and crucified, he didn’t want to go through it.  Imagine, knowing exactly what is to come.  The brutality, the humiliation, the pain, the sorrow, and the suffering.  Knowing that you must do this for those you love and to follow the will of your father.  Imagine walking freely into that, with love in your heart.  I hope to one day be able to fully comprehend this sacrifice and this love.

2 thoughts on “Praying in the Garden

  1. I had never thought about it that way. When I read Christ’s words in the Gospel, I tend to read them only as trying to take a moment to teach. I keep forgetting that, in human form, he would want what we all hope for – companionship and support when he needed it the most.

    Like

  2. CH,

    I wonder if a lot of us struggle with this. It’s so east to simply think of Jesus as God’s Son. Part of us doesn’t want to admit his human side. I tend to think it makes it easier to accept what he went through for us. But he was fully Man. And I think all of the pain, sadness, and suffering was very real just as it would be for us. I’ll tell you, I don’t like to dwell to much on this, because when I do think on it, it’s almost too much. But the more I accept he was fully Man, the easier it has been to understand a lot of things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

